Vermicomposting anyone?

St. Louis, MO(Zone 5b)

Does anyone do the worm composting thing? If so, can you share a bit about how you do it, like the bin, type of worms, where you keep the worms in winter, and anything else?

I'm thinking about starting this but I'm not at all sure how.

Thanks,

Maureen

Port Orchard, WA(Zone 8a)

mlm01, I started worm composting about 5 years ago, I use the finished stuff in my compost tea also. I got my worms from calling the local Master gardeners in the local pages in the phone book. for free!!!! I don't know if they do this everywhere, but it's worth a try , they said the only payback is after I got my worm bed started I might get a call to pass on some worms to another newcomer to worm composting, I gladly obliged. good luck hostajim1

St. Louis, MO(Zone 5b)

Thanks for the info, I will definately look into the free worms :)
M.

College Station, TX(Zone 8b)

I have been composting with worms for about 6 months now. You may want to go to http://www.wormwoman.com/acatalog/index.html
this site has a lot of good information, and is where I got my worms. The worm woman has a book called "Worms Eat My Garbage" that is supposed to be the best resourse for worm composting. I don't have the book, but you can get it on that website. Our local contact for worms was out of them when I started. He had just built a pond, and was feeding the fish. . .

Your area may also have a Master Composter class. This class is similar to the Master Composter program, but has less much less required hours. This program is where I learned about worm composting.