A Vine which would look fitting in an Oriental Garden?

OC, CA & Twin Lakes , IA(Zone 4b)

This is my nextdoor neighbor's yard. He has an Oriental theme going and goes for texture as opposed to bright flowers. He asked for a suggestion of a vine.

Thumbnail by TwinLakesChef

The vine would grow on the copper trellis against the fence.

Any suggestions?

San Jose, CA(Zone 9a)

Hi TLC...Good to see you! My JMG seeds are sprouting away!
I am just getting into Clematis, I think some of them have a very oriental look that would be nice on that trellis...I will have to look later and see which ones I had in mind! Pretty yard!
Margie

How long did they take to germinate? I just started mine last week.

I am going to see if I can find my clematis catalog. Thanjks for the idea.

San Jose, CA(Zone 9a)

TLC...check out this site for clematis...http://shop.store.yahoo.com/chalkhillclematis/hakuree.html

Here is one like I was thinking about...
From Chalk Hill site...

Thumbnail by picturelady
Ventura, United States(Zone 10b)

Wisteria comes to mind, but that is almost too obvious. I can think of some others like Honeysuckle, Jasmine, Passifloras, Telosma cordata, Thunbergia mysorensis, but those would have to be grown in a container and brought in in the wintertime or treated as annuals.

Moonflowers are excellent too and can be started each year from seed. My moonflowers are perennials here and have just started blooming again. Here is a picture from last year.

Thumbnail by Clare_CA
(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

Climbing hydrangea originated in Japan so that would fit right in.
Clematis, coming from the orient, would also fit his theme.

What great ideas! Thank you all; when he makes a decision and gets it growing, I post a pic.

San Jose, CA(Zone 9a)