Summer squash question

Sunnyvale, CA(Zone 9b)

This is my 1st year growing squashes. I bought a crookneck plant at a local nursery about a month ago and planted it. The plant is bearing fruit already. I have noticed one thing I thought was strange though. First few buds that came out were all female and they all bloomed and the fruit are getting big. At this point, I have decided the plant I have must be a all female producing plant. But then this week, I have been seeing new stems that are going to have flowers but those have thin non-swelling stems. Since I am new to veggy gardening and never had anything that didn't need pollination, I don't know if this is normal or not.
I guess my question is, do female only plants also produce male flowers anyway? Do you think this is some kind of female/male plant that doesn't need pollination?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

tmm

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

Perfectly normal for the newer hybrids. All squashes have both female and male flowers. The breeders are working hard to develop cultivars with more female blossoms, because there is where the crop begins. Some of the early females will abort due to lack of pollination, but some cultivars will make an edible fruit without pollination. I grow mostly Horn of Plenty which sets fruits before the male blossoms appear.

Sunnyvale, CA(Zone 9b)

Farmerdill,

Wow, thank you SO MUCH for the post!
I had no idea.

Every one of the females that came out is now bearing fruit before the males are out.

So does this mean I can pluck all the males before they bloom and fry them up for dinner? That would be great! I think I will watch it for a while and see if I can do this.

tmm

Sunnyvale, CA(Zone 9b)

Well, I haven't been plucking any buds so far but I wanted to post this to see if anyone knew what was going on.