Towson, MD

Does anyone have experience with the elms that are supposed to be tolerant to Dutch elm disease ? I have been reading about the Princeton selection recently planted on Penna Ave in Wash DC and was thinking of replacing a nearly dead Pin Oak with one. Our street used to be lined with beautiful elms.

Thanks

I have some experience, very limited but some. I will do my best.

Were you dead set on buying a Princeton? There are others out there that may be superior to Princeton. Valley Forge, Homestead, Patriot, Pioneer, New Harmony, Dynasty, Frontier, Pathfinder, and Prospector all appear to have very good resistance. More DED resistant elms are hitting the market every year. I am giving you these names should you want to do a little checking on your own. Princeton has a good level of disease resistance but no where near the level of Valley Forge or New Harmony. If my memory serves me, Valley Forge is going to be your best bet. I have one here however I also have others. Accolade is another one I have that you might want to consider. The Accolade is an introduction from my neck of the woods. Although it does not appear to be as DED resistant as Valley Forge, it does appear to have resistance to both the elm leaf beetle and leaf miner. I do not know if Valley Forge is resistant to those. I also planted New Harmony last year but I would really like to get my hands on Washington and Jefferson as they look very promising. I haven't been able to locate either one but there's always next year. Wouldn't it be great to see Elm silhouettes gracing the landscape again!

Where is StarhillForest? He'd be able to answer any questions you have and could probably add a few new releases that I haven't mentioned.

Illinois, IL(Zone 5b)

Wow, Equilibrium gave you a great list! He/she must have quite an elm collection.