Starting Veggies from Seeds

Columbus, GA(Zone 5b)

I am totally new to veggie gardening. And I am wanting to start the seeds outside in Peat Pots. And then will move in doors this winter. I am in Southern Louisiana, should I get a patio greenhouse for the pots. DO I need to get a heat mat, ideas for the best organic fertilizer, potting soil, and any hints. My husband told me there is no way any of the plants will sprout. So needing to show him it can be done :-D

SO just needing help how to get the little guys started and on the road to good health. We are growing Arcadia Broccoli, Brussels Sprouts, Green Boy and Vantage Cabbage, Snow Crown Caulflower, General Lee Cucumbers, Blackbell Eggplant, Elephant GArlic, A VAriety of Bell Peppers and Jalaphano Peppers, Radish, Spinach and tomato. Also any bookjs on getting seeds started. I am a totally noivce when it comes vegtable gardning. Thank you

Wichita, KS(Zone 6b)

I don't live as far south as you do obviously but I think that it might be a bit late to start most of what you list from seed until later on for a fall or winter garden. The only one I see on your list that is most likely a possibility for warm weather seeding is cucumber and you just seed those direct in the ground.. Spinach and radish are also direct seeded but are a cool weather crop. Broccoli, brussel sprout, cabbage, cauliflower are cool weather crops where you set out the plants in real early spring here. Your peppers and tomato plants should already be planted also but you could most likely start some of these for fall croping.

Auburn, AL(Zone 8a)

I live in SE TX and I agree I think it's to late to start some of that and to early for others. I made the mistake of thinking everything should be planted when I did my seeds in March. But tell you DH that I started from seeds (I'm a first timer too) in pots outside (this was done cause I didn't have a clue NOT to) and they lived and are sprouting fine.

Thumbnail by araness
Windermere, FL(Zone 9b)