Can someone help me here?

Shepherd, TX(Zone 8b)

I'm wanting to buy some LA irises, and in a few of the descriptions I've read where they are a "#1 size root". Could someone explain to me the grading system? I'm still a relative newbie to irises as a whole, and don't know anything other than what a 'fan' is. :-/

Sand Springs, OK(Zone 7a)

They are rhizome's not root and should be about this long

______________________or longer& about this wide--- _______

Lewisburg, KY(Zone 6a)

Are the LA iris foliage much taller than TB. A friend of mine gave me something that has a small yellow bloom.
It spreads like crazy. I could share it.

Shepherd, TX(Zone 8b)

tazzy--thanks. That's not too shabby a size, although I have noticed that some people are awfully proud of some commonly had cultivars...

bluegrass--You probably have Iris pseudacorus, Yellow Flag. Yes, it can be invasive. They're not true LA irises, being a European import. I have some growing in my bog area already, and I'm keeping an eye on it. Thanks for offering, anyway. :-)

Lewisburg, KY(Zone 6a)

I will keep it in my rouge garden. It can fight with the mint.

Stanford, CA(Zone 9b)

As to the question whether LA's and Tall Beardeds are taller or shorter, LA's can be 25" to over 50" and TB's, while they are supposed to be taller than 27" can range from 20" to 50". Depends on the genes and growing conditions. The foliage is different, LA's love water, and Bearded Iris can rot if they are overwatered. And of course the flowers are a mile apart. LA's don't have beards. :-)

Iris City Gardens is a good website where you can see pretty much all the types of Iris except Arilbred and Historical.
http://www.iriscitygardens.com/toc.html

You can see Arilbreds and Historical Iris, in addition to the different types of beardeds at Superstition:
http://community.webshots.com/user/rickt103