Types of Iris. What's the difference?

Stanford, CA(Zone 9b)

We have some new folks here that would like to know. This should be a fun review.

Fredericksburg, TX(Zone 8a)

Is there some website that explains the different classes and types of iris. I'm just beginning to get interested in them and I have many questions.

Doss, thanks for the info. Very interesting websites. I am trying to figure out exactly what makes it a LA iris or a German iris or whatever. What characteristics does an iris have to have to be in a certain class?

Tellico Plains, TN(Zone 7b)

Sutton's Iris Gardens has a pretty good glossary, this is good for starters .........
http://www.suttoniris.com/images/HomeCoreTemplate_r1_c1.jpg

Abbreviations E — Early blooming iris
F — Falls
M — Mid season bloomer
L — Late season bloomer
Plic — Plicata
RE — Rebloomer
S — Standards
SA — Space Ager

Iris Classifications MDB — Miniature Dwarf Bearded: up to 8" in height, very early bloom season
SDB — Standard Dwarf Bearded: 8 - 16", early season
IB — Intermediate Bearded: 16 - 27 1/2", mid season
MTB — Miniature Tall Bearded: 16 - 27 1/2", mid - late season
BB — Border Bearded: 16 - 27 1/2", late bloom season
TB — Tall Bearded: over 27 1/2", late bloom season

Descriptive Terms Amoena — White standards, colored falls
Beard —Line of fuzzy hairs at the top of the falls
Bicolor — Light to medium standards, darker contrasting falls
Bitone — Two tones of the same color
Blend — Two or more colors blended together
Falls — 3 lower petals of iris flower
Flounces — Appendages extending from the tip of the beard like little petals
Hafts — Top part of falls (area surrounding beard)
Horns — Spears extending from the tip of the beards
Luminata — Wash of color in falls with paler veining; clear unmarked area on hafts; usually paler edge to petals
Neglecta — Blue standards, darker colored falls
Plicata — Stippled or stitched margin color on lighter ground color