Question re: vitamix composting

N., CA(Zone 9a)

I have been blending kitchen scraps in my Vitamix to pour in my flower garden. Everything I read says when you compost, do not use meat or fat. Are bones such as chicken bones, or fish bones considered meat?
~Rachael

Windermere, FL(Zone 9b)

I'm no expert, but I'd say not to add any bones because you'll attract rodents. There may be other reasons as well. Margaret

Allen Park, MI(Zone 6a)

I agree with veggie mom, no bones.

Paul

Hughesville, MO(Zone 5a)

Guess I was a bad girl. I always ground the chicken bones and put them in the compost.

Jonesboro, GA(Zone 7b)

Hummmmmmm - well, we do use bone meal for bulbs, etc.

N., CA(Zone 9a)

Right! That was what I was wondering. Maybe it has to do with cleaning the meat off the bones really good. (?) Who here has experience with Vitamix composting?
~Rachael

Jonesboro, GA(Zone 7b)

yes, I think it's the grease that would cause a problem.

Garberville, CA(Zone 9a)

Rachael -

I LOVE that you use your vitamix to create compost.

My Mother bought one at the county fair 7or 8 years ago, used it for about a month, and its been collecting dust ever since. I love teasing her about the $400 blender!

Perhaps I can con her into giving it to me.... What a great way to utilize both blender, and kitchen scraps.

Lori

N., CA(Zone 9a)

Lori, I thought for sure our vitamix would end up in the spare bedroom along with the treadmill and cuisinart. But I kid you not, it was one of the best purchases we've ever made. I got it Mothers Day last year and I figure I use it - on an average - at least twice a day. As mentioned, I use it to blend kitchen scraps for compost. I also make smoothies for my husband every morning, I make baby food for my 10 month old, diet shakes for me when I'm on a diet and Frappucinos when I'm not! I could go on and on, but then I start sounding like a salesperson.