First Time Grower

Memphis, TN(Zone 7b)

Hi all,

I've got one surviving bird gourd seedling that I need to plant outside and was wondering.....I'd like to put it on a trellis, but I'm afraid it migh over power it. I don't really have a place to let one just ramble across the ground. Any suggestions?

Crossville, TN

Betsybug...I've never trellised a Bird house gourd...but it should be interesting...the weight of the bottom of the gourd may make it streatch...maybe you'd end up with a Bottle Gourd....! Just a thought. Jo

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

Last time I grew birdhouse gourds, I ran them along a woven wire fence. That seemed to work fine. They neither pulled the fence down or stretched.

Crossville, TN

Good to know! Jo

Locust Grove, AR(Zone 7a)

Hi Betsy,

I'm also new to gourds and I'm glad you started this thread. I live on a mountain and I'm thinking about growing some down the rocky hillside. Does anybody have any thoughts on this idea?

I have a terrible mint problem in that section of the property and think maybe the gourd vines would crowd out the mint, as well as prevent erosion.

Angie

Crossville, TN

Angie...I'm glad you found us...and I certainly see no problem with growing them on a hill side....I went by a "gourd friend's house today and she gave me lots of MINT...LOL

What kind of gourds do you plan to grow? Take pictures!! Jo

Hi Jo,

Critterologist very generously gave me some birdhouse gourd seeds, but now I'm not sure where to put them. I guess I'll just stick some in the ground and see what happens. She sent me 25, so I have plenty to experiment with! I foolishly thought I could put some in the garden, but then I read that they spread 10-15 feet in all directions. I just don't have that kind of extra space in my veggie garden and I am forced to find alternatives.