Shipping AV Leaves

Olympia, WA(Zone 7b)

I'm going to ship some AV leaves, which I've never done before. How shall I do this? I received some leaves once in plastic baggies with some shredded newspaper and they arrived in good condition. Does this sound good? Is it warm enough to mail them yet? I'll certainly cut the leaves the day I send them. Do I need to get a special box from the post office? If so, can I take the box home to pack it? (This sounds like a silly question maybe, but once they made me pack stuff there or they wouldn't sell it to me, and that was just an envelope!) If anyone can share their experiences, I'd really appreciate it! I don't have much experience (or at least, any GOOD experiences) with the post office...

Thanks in advance!
--Dana

The Heart of Texas, TX(Zone 8b)

Dana,
You can cut your leaves, be sure to cut the stem a little long, then just place in a plastic baggie with shredded newspaper and/or blow a little air in the baggie,zip it closed and place in any small box with added newspaper or packing p-nuts and ship.The small priority box should be fine.Be sure to label the baggies.

As far as the weather is concerned,as long as it isn't freezing weather or very hot between you & their destination,they should do fine. Send them Priority .

They travel pretty easily so you shouldn't have any trouble.

Good luck!

MsC

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)

MsC, do you mean put the whole leaf in the baggie, or just the long stem? I was thinking that long-stemmed leaves could be packed like other cuttings, with moist paper towel & baggie around the stems but with the leaves just wrapped in a paper cone.... is it better to keep the top part of the leaf dry, or should it be humid in the baggie?