What to do with used soil from Earthbox

Sunnyvale, CA(Zone 9b)

This is my first year that I am using EB's. I know it's kind of early, but what am I supposed to do with the used soil the EB's when the season is over with? Can I use it again next year? My concern is, well, although I use organic fertilizers, can I add 3 cups as before the second time around or I need to reduce the amount the second year since there could be some left-over fertilizers already in the soil? Or am I supposed to throw the used soil away and start with new potting soil?

Am I being a little anal here or what..

tmm

Kearny, NJ(Zone 7a)

You can reuse the soil for at least 3-4 years. I too use organic fertilizer and have been growing in some of my EB's for 5 years adding fertilizer each year without any problems.

Rich

Fort Pierce, FL(Zone 10a)

I don't use EBs, but I do container gardening. Can I reuse that soil too? I just dumped out my rectangular boxes, but I haven't thrown the soil away yet. Can I mix some new potting soil in with it and reuse it?
Pati

Sunnyvale, CA(Zone 9b)

Thank you Rich.

Do you put the same amount of fertilizer the 2nd year as you do the 1st year?

Kearny, NJ(Zone 7a)

You can reuse the soil used in any type of pot. I leave my filled pots out all winter so most of the roots left in the soil tend to decompose although sometimes its easier to dump it out, loosen it up and remove any root clumps and then put back in the pot. If the soil is extremely root bound I may mix it with 25% fresh potting mix after thoroughly breaking it up. I add the same amount of fertilizer every year and have been doing that ever since my bad back forced me to curtail my in ground planting.

Rich

Fort Pierce, FL(Zone 10a)

Thank you so much, Rich. This is really good news. Buying so much new potting soil was really curtailing the number of containers I can have. Now I'm going to rescue the soil I dumped and refresh it!
Pati

Kearny, NJ(Zone 7a)