new at container gardening

Southern, United States

I am new at container gardening, really any kind of gardening and I was wondering if I could plant 2 types of vegetables in one container of should I plant them in separate ones? I wanted to a red bell pepper and an eggplant together, but wasn't sure if it would work. Also how many plants should I put to a container, such as the eggplants. if I did 1 container of eggplants should I do just one per pot? Thanks!

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8b)

The size of the container determines how many plants you can use. Peppers and eggplants are usually compatible. I'd suggest you check this site: http://www.containerseeds.com. The owner of this small seed company is very knowledgeable and writes a monthly newsletter to which you can subscribe without obligation to buy seeds. Do you already have containers you want to use? What size are they?

Southern, United States

I don't have any yet....I was trying to decide whether I should buy 1 larger to do both or should I get smaller ones and do individually. Any tips?

Rutland , MA(Zone 5b)

i have grown eggplants in five gallon buckets in the past. i would suggest putting one plant in only.

Pembroke Pines, FL(Zone 10a)

I have always planted one plant only in 18" or 20" containers. The bigger the container the better. Don't chinch on size as you need a good root system.

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8b)

If you use something as large as a half barrel, you can use two or maybe three plants, but you'll need rich potting soil, and remember that containers will dry out faster than in ground plants so check for moisture as often as twice a day when the weather is very hot and/or windy.

Southern, United States

Thanks for the tips! Do you think that 5 gal is the minimum I should use?

This message was edited Apr 25, 2005 3:38 PM

Rutland , MA(Zone 5b)

for big plants like tomatoes eggplants and peppers i would say yes.

Southern, United States

thanks for the input!

Gurnee, IL(Zone 5a)