Columbine, advice needed

Brookeville, MD(Zone 7a)

I'm pretty new to columbines. I just bought a few plants, should I be snipping off the spent flowers (I have been doing this) and when should I stop to get some seed (which I really want)?

Lafayette, IN(Zone 5a)

If you want seeds, don't snip the old blooms off. You will have more seeds than you know what to do with!

Deb

Brookeville, MD(Zone 7a)

Yes, but won't that stop the plant from putting out a lot of flowers? Will snipping off dead ones make a later blooming in fall also?

Coopersburg, PA(Zone 6b)

i have never seen a later bloom in the fall. i normally clip after the flowers fade. have also found that letting the plants self-seed is much easier than collecting seed and sowing myself.

Seward, AK(Zone 3b)

Michelle, here I collect seeds in the fall, but my season is considerably different than yours. In my experience, A. flabellata blooms in spring, then is done, but the A. vulgaris and McKana's tend to bloom all summer. I never deadhead my columbine, but, should you decide to, I'd not deadhead the flabellatas because your window of opportunity for seed collection is quite limited.

Brookeville, MD(Zone 7a)

I think I'm going to stop dead heading right away! And save up those seeds for some yummy trades.

Seward, AK(Zone 3b)

You'll be pleased with the amount of seeds you'll get, Michelle. They are ready when the head turns brown and opens at the top. The seeds are shiny black and can be harvested just by tipping the seed head into a container. Of course, it also means they are easily sown by nature if you wait too long.

Thumbnail by Weezingreens
Brookeville, MD(Zone 7a)

That's more seed than I thought! They won't come true to form... will they?

Decatur, GA(Zone 7a)