Weed seeds in compost and mulch - Pre-emerge??

Abilene, TX(Zone 7a)

I got a great load of free mulch from the city recycle center, dumped in on top of a bunch of rye grass (no where else to put it), until I got my bins ready to store it. When I raked it up I got tons of rye grass seeds in it. I want to use it for compost as well as mulch so my question is, since it's all carbon based plant material (brown), would it work to mix a pre-emerge fertilizer in it and water it in good? My thinking was that the nitrogen from the fertilizer would help break down the mulch and the pre-emerge would hopefully stop all that rye grass from sprouting. Am I off track here? I'm a newbie at this.

Josephine, Arlington, TX(Zone 8a)

Hello Artdollist, when you say pre-emerge fertilizer, I suppose you are talking about chemical fertilizer. I you are, and you want to make organic compost, you would be defeating the purpose by using chemicals.
However using the fertilizer like you said would make compost for you, and possibly kill the seeds since that is one of the uses for it, but remember, the purpose of compost is not just to add organic matter to your soil, it is meant to feed your plants with food as it occurs in nature.

You could accomplish the same thing by using manure instead of the fertilizer, and be sure the compost heats up, that will kill the seeds too, without adding chemicals to you compost.

I hope I helped, let me know if you have other questions.
Josephine.

Abilene, TX(Zone 7a)