Compost has turned to lumps!

Eagle, MI(Zone 5a)

I am new to composting and to Dave's Garden. I've looked through the composing forum, but haven't found anything that refers to my situation. I have a Compost Tumbler, which I filled over the winter months with kitchen waste, leaves and some shredded paper. About 2 weeks ago, I decided it was time to "cook", so I added some coffee grounds and put the tumbler in a sunny location, turning regularly as directed. The process seems to be working as the volume has reduced by more than half, but now I have a tumbler full of golf ball sized lumps. Is this usual? If not, does anyone have any ideas about why this is happening and how to correct it? Thanks for any info you can provide.

Porterfield, WI(Zone 4b)

I have two home-made compost tumblers and I have had a similar experience. I will be watching for any advice also! Legit

auckland, New Zealand

A few years ago I made about 4 tumblers and a couple went the "golf ball"way
I wasn't a member of Dave's then so didn't get advice
I'd be interested to find out why

Ash

Buffalo, NY(Zone 5a)

Hi my name is John and have a tumbler issue too, its been going on since last August. I've been wacking the little balls with a claw and busting them up that way, seems too work, not a huge problem. Is it just the natural rolling up of the material in a tumbler? Is it too much in a tumbler at once that causes the material to slide instead of slam back and forth?

Eagle, MI(Zone 5a)

Thanks for the info, John (I love your screen name!) I'll try busting up the little devils and see what happens. I've also wondered if it had to do with tumbling instead of turning. Could it be too much moisture?

Porterfield, WI(Zone 4b)

If am sure glad to hear others have had the same problem, I thought I had just messed up the "formula" but good! It would be interesting to hear from folks who have commercial ones and see if ours are lacking something! Legit

Buffalo, NY(Zone 5a)