In my hay meadow...

San Augustine, TX(Zone 8b)

I found hundreds of these! This is the first spring in our new house. Are they just a "wild" iris????

Thumbnail by mydaisy
Willamette Valley, OR(Zone 8a)

They look like a dutch iris to me....but I'm no expert. Maybe one of the experts will come by here soon. :-)

Stanford, CA(Zone 9b)

Very lovely, I don't think that it's just a "wild Iris". I have one growing in my yard but I don't know what it is. Is it very short?

I knew it wouldn't be long before an expert showed up! lol So, whudduya think Doss? ;-)

Stanford, CA(Zone 9b)

I'm no expert on this one. laurief is the one to ask here. I'm not really an expert, but I'm a pretty good researcher, and I've done some gardening. :-)

Port Neches, TX(Zone 9a)

They are probably blue flags.

Broaddus, TX(Zone 8b)

My Daisy,
I live in Broaddus on Lake Sam Rayburn. We are neighbors!
I have this exact iris in my East flower bed. It is IRIS RETICULATA. There are many different hybrids. However, this one is species iris. They are tough little guys that will bloom & survive in the face of snow and cold winter winds as well as drought.
I plan to move mine from under a big pine tree to my West bed where it gets more sun so that more blooms will appear.
Dig those jewels from your hay field & plant them in your display garden!
You can transplant now by cutting plant back by half & keep it moist during first few weeks until it overcomes transplant shock. They like full sun.
They are lovely planted in 10 to 15 plants in a cluster.
You are blessed to have this lovely iris.
warm regards

Sudie and MyDaisy, you are lucky to have those...they are so pretty! At first I was thinking they were I. Reticulata, but they looked too tall. Think I'm gonna have to get some of those! :-)

Mendy

Franklin, LA(Zone 9a)

How tall are they? Are they growing in a damp area? How large are the flowers?

Iris Reticulata is very short, isn't it?