Is this a disease?

Albany, OR(Zone 8a)

This is my first time doing a Thread.
I bought a peony from a very reptuable small nursery guy about 1 1/2 months ago. I planted the peony and all was well for awhile. But now each stem is dying. Only one stem is now alive. Can someone tell me what is going on from the picture? Is it a disease or transplant shock?

Thumbnail by daisyruffles
Albany, OR(Zone 8a)

Here is another picture of the stems drooping over.

Thumbnail by daisyruffles
NW Qtr, AR(Zone 6a)

daisyruffles .. Regretably .. I have no idea about what could be the matter .. other than, from the appearance in your pics - perhaps a bit of a 'lift' may be in order! It may be just the mulch I'm seeing, that makes the Peony appear to be set a bit TOO deep in the ground ...

But, for safety sake, maybe take your shovel and place it far enuff away from the bush, and go strait down with the shovel .. and then lift her a wee bit, to elevate her .. and shove some soil under it.

Heck, she looks just too healthy, otherwise .. to be anything more serious .. Of course, that's just my humble opinion .. but a sincere observation!

I'll keep tabs with ya .. and hopefully that does the trick - or someone with a whole lot more knowledge and experience pops in .. soon .. to give ya better aid!!

- Magpye

Albany, OR(Zone 8a)

Thanks, Magpye, for your response.
It looks like there is a lot of mint compost around the stems but I actually thought there were planted too deep too. But the soil around the peony stems is dark too. The stems are at the same level as what they were in the 5-gal pot when I bought it.
I had asked someone at another nursery about this problem and they thought it was too wet. Well, this isn't the case. These peonies are in a raised bed, about 18" or more above the ground.
So I am still hoping someone out there can help me.

NW Qtr, AR(Zone 6a)

Quoting:
So I am still hoping someone out there can help me.

Me too, daisyruffles .. me too! (*huggerooners*)