Michigan morel story

Beaumont, CA

Hi, I'm new to Daves. I lived in MI (newhudson near So. Lyon) for a year and a half. I was homesick for CA and trying to love MI. One thing that excited me was morel hunting. I read about it in the paper and bugged hubby to go. We never got around to it and the season is short so I was blue. We had woods behind the house and I was poking around and to my amazement, there was a big ol' patch of morels!!! I tasted a micropiece to be sure and plucked them all ( a mistake, you're supposed to leave some and shake them all about to keep them coming...). I had a big basket full and dried some, made soup. I was in heaven!
If anyone is a morel hunter, can I have them shipped to CA? :) I'm missing them...
Anyway, hi to the Michiganders from sunny CA.

Au Gres, MI(Zone 5a)

Hi Lisabethm.......LOL@you.......You should know by now, Morel hunters never ever tell the location of thier finds...and they don't share thier morels either.....*s*.......you may want to check out this website....perhaps these folks can help you with getting some morels shipped to Calif

http://www.morelmushroomhunting.com/

Good luck....and please come back to visit us at the Michigan site....

Deann

Bay City, MI(Zone 6a)

last spring was first yr I ever hunted the shrooms(ive lived here over 40yrs) and even though i was in great pain from a reaction to plants-face swollen and bright red- We still went shrooming and found them!! It was a great time.
I cant wait to go back.

Arliene was here saturday and mentioned it that night in my dreams i was shrooming LOL

This message was edited Apr 20, 2005 10:13 AM

Beaumont, CA