to use or not use use fresh pine mulch

Goshen, OH(Zone 6a)

I have been offered free a truck load of fresh pine mulch. I am posting this question as I have never used pine before I have always used Cypress. Okay so now for the question.

Can I use Pine mulch without hurting any of my plants, I have been told that it is very acidic and will kill grass but what about plants, I know some plants like acidic soil, but not all do. I have a very large woodland garden that takes alot of mulch and would like to take advantage of this free offer.
Does anyone have an opinion?

JoAnn

Spring Hill, FL(Zone 9a)

are you talking about chips or pine straw?I use tons of pine straw for mulch here. works well and its free.

Goshen, OH(Zone 6a)

Pine Chips is what the guy is offering.

JoAnn

Murfreesboro, TN(Zone 7a)

In my humble and non-scientific opinion, mulch typically takes a good long while to break down and its effect on the soil's pH is mitigated by the slow breakdown and other variables that nature and you may throw into the works.

If this is potentially a very real threat to some plants that will famish if exposed to a lower pH then don't use it near them, or plan on using a fertilizer that will help raise your soil's pH and offset the effect of the mulch.

Goshen, OH(Zone 6a)

thanks terry, i kinda knew that just wanted someone else's opinion.

Joann

Spring Hill, FL(Zone 9a)

Well put Terry. One other thing to consider is that the fresh pine chips will produce a fair amount of heat, especially at first, if they are piled too thickly. Might want to keep the layer at 3 inches or so.

Goshen, OH(Zone 6a)

Thanks for all the info.

JoAnn

Dansville, NY(Zone 6a)

i read someplace that pine is one of the worst mulches
to use around plants. It really messes up the soil till it
brakes down. I cant recall what exactely it does to the
soil.

If you look at a group of pine trees most of the time
you see nothing growing around them, just a blanket of