Stevia

Lomita, CA(Zone 10a)

I have ordered several stevia plants for myself, being intrigued by the idea of sugar-free sweetening. I have MS and cannot use Equal or Splenda as overuse of such processed sweetners can cause mimicry of MS symptoms and exacerbation of existing symptoms in true MS (Okay, medical lesson over...)

So, has anyone every grown it, used it, heard of possible problems in its consumption, etc.

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)

I have one tiny seedling now, so I'm pretty new to growing Stevia.... no harvest yet! LOL I think it has 6 leaves.

I've heard fresh leaves are very good in tea (iced or hot), but that the flavor may be a little "green" for some uses in terms of replacing sugar in recipes. Did you try searching the Recipes forum?

Hopefully somebody will be able to tell us more....

Dansville, NY(Zone 6a)

I came across that plant on seedrack and have been thinking of getting some
seeds and trying it out ..

I will need some info also on it . how to use it in cooking and that stuff.
Also if a extraction can be done , steam distillation so
you could end up with a sugar (sweet) water or somthing.

Tallahassee, FL(Zone 8b)

I've got some growing in my yard. I like to keep it around; it's a very low-maintenance plant.

For a while there, I would simply cut it back and dry the cuttings, then crush to powder with a mortar and pestle. (If you have a coffee or herb grinder, that would work also.) Slip a pinch in my coffee and reduce my refined sugar intake! Sometimes I just pinch off a leaf or two and toss it into whatever I want to sweeten (best method for herbal tea).