Any Heuchera Experts Out There, specifically deer-resistant

Tallahassee, FL(Zone 8b)

I am just beginning to research Heucheras for a flowerbed. BUT, they must be deer-resistant! We have a hearty population of deer in our area, who view many plants as "Thanks, Mom, for the salad bar, chomp, chomp!"

I want to use contrasting colors for interest in this bed, and especially love "Lime Rickey." It is not listed in the DG plant list as "deer resistant." This may be lack of information at this time, or is there some feature in Heucheras that makes some of them "deer resistant???" Perhaps the darker colors are, but not the lighter ones? Does anyone know? I REALLY LOVE "Lime Rickey" to contrast with the purples, silvers, reds, autumn colors. And what about "Marmalade?" Offspring to "Amber Waves."

Any experience/info out there would be appreciated!!!!!!

Thanks!!!

Winchester, KY(Zone 6a)

I've never had a problem with deer munching on any of my heucheras, but then my dog deters them. But the catalogs I just thumbed through refer to any heucheras as deer resistant. I've found that urine of any animal that eats meat (including human)keeps them away. Before I had a dog that's how I kept them at bay and had no problems at all, and I live pretty deep in the woods. Of course living deep in the woods with total privacy and being male perhaps makes that method especially easy for me. But you may want to send any boys in the family out at night to see if it works! Good Luck.

Monroe, NC(Zone 7b)

Carefully dispensed, it's a great fertilization method, as well. I have high hopes for a newly planted camellia . . . . . .

This message was edited Mar 29, 2005 12:19 PM

Tallahassee, FL(Zone 8b)

Thanks for your reply! I'm trying to talk my DH into taking on this responsibility. However, there is one slight problem. This flower bed runs along the front entry walk to my house. Do you suppose the urine smell might deter others besides the deer?!?!?!?!? LOL