I'm A NewBee...

Flanders, NJ(Zone 6a)

Hello all, I'm an avid gardener, and I'm new to the game of greenhouses. I've been gardening for about 2 years, and with Dave's for about the same duration. I'm looking to purchase a small greenHouse, and I have no to little skills with construction, so that idea is out the window. I received 2 catalogues so far, FarmTek Growers Supply, and Charley's GreenHouse & Garden, and I'm planning on ordering a greenHouse soon. I'm looking for something in the area of 9' W x 7-8'H x 10' L. Nothing major, and all of your input will be appreciated. Thanx, Danny

La Grange, TX(Zone 8b)

Danny,

The best advise I received was to get the largest size I could afford. it was good advise. It's amazing how fast you can fill it. Think of the plants you currently own, the ones you plan to place in the greenhouse, and what you may acquire in the near future. I started with a few orchids and within the year filled an 8 X 8 X 8 polycarbonate greenhouse. I plan to mount some of my orchids on cork and mount them on the wall to give me room for more. I needed to overwinter a large citrus collection — they are in 24" or 30" pots. My husband bought a 20 X 20 X 12 from FarmTex. If you wander through the greenhouses forum, you'll notice that many of the greenhouses mentioned came from FarmTek. You will notice that instruction are woefully inadequate, but I think that's universal. We didn't need extra help, but some DGers say that FarmTek answered all their questions. I have bought a number of things from Charley's Greenhouse, but they are rather expensive.

Have a look at this website.

http://www.igcusa.com/

I have ordered some greenhouse components from them. They were prompt and the prices were reasonable. Good hunting! Part of the fun is in the shopping.

BettyDee

Tonasket, WA(Zone 5a)