Question about marigolds for pest control...

Shenandoah Valley, VA(Zone 6b)

Hi, I'm a newbie here, and am working with a new garden plot, just dug up in the fall. I'm ordering some heirloom French marigolds from Southern Exposure -- they're called Tashkent 1 -- and the catalog description says they have a sweet rather than bitter sort of fragrance. Does anyone know whether this variety will be less effective against whiteflies and other pests as a result of the better smell? Anyone grow Tashkent marigolds w/ the veggies? Thanks.

Cowichan Valley, BC(Zone 8b)

zeppy,
I figured someone more knowledgeable would reply, but since no one has, here's my 2 cents worth.

are the tashkent marigolds tagetes? These are the types that I plant with the vegetables (especially tomatoes, but also beans and generally all around the vege beds). I can't say for sure that they make a difference, but I have never (knock on wood!) had any major tomato pest problem.

I have seen advice that says it's the french varieties (which are tagetes) and the african varieties (which are ______?) that are useful for nematode control and repelling aphids. Most sources do mention the distinctive bitter scent, implying that it is necessary for effectiveness. But I don't know for sure if it is.

as I said - hopefully someone more knowledgeable will reply too!

zeppy, of course as soon as I posted I saw that you said they *are* french marigolds. So then the key question is whether the lack of "bitter" scent makes them ineffective for pest control. -- which is exactly what you asked isn't it (sigh). Well, let's really hope someone else replies!

marigolds are so lovely (if you like them at all) - why not get another variety as well, one that has the bitter scent, and intermix them for insurance?

what garden wouldn't be better off for having some Jolly Jesters http://www.seedsavers.org/prodinfo.asp?number=1082&variation=&aitem=2&mitem=6 , for example.