Upper elevation (cool loving) orchids

Temecula, CA(Zone 8b)

This is Artorima erubescens on a fern pole. It is my first try with this cool-loving species orchid from upper elevations. I placed it next to my backdraft vent so it would stay cool. I am really hoping for a bloom after this growth flush. Anyone else with experience with this species? Could sure use some tips.

Thumbnail by drdon
DC metro, VA(Zone 7b)

Looks really interesting. I am staying away from cooler growers so I don't have any tips. Have you seen this page? http://orchidspecies.com/artorimaerubensis.htm

Brookeville, MD(Zone 7a)

Will it get enough humidity and coolness?

It might be easier to grow near an air conditioning vent. But... then you'll have dryness.

Well, good luck! Don't forget to send us a pic of the blooms!

St. John's, NL(Zone 5b)

I'm not familiar with that one but many of my orchids are cool growers, primarily Odontoglossum types. All I can say is that many cool-growing orchids may start to suffer if the temp rises above 80 F. They prefer a max of 70-75, and can take down to 50 F in winter.

Temecula, CA(Zone 8b)

Thank you for all of your insights. I am also trying Encyclia vitellina, which is an orange flowering species from around 2800 meters. It is my intent to build a homemade swamp cooler box that will activate when my backdraft vent opens at 64F. I am very concerned about heat intolerance for summer in that our climate regularly has entire months (Jul-Sept) where weeks of 100F+ weather can be common. I do have a humidistat and a misting system overhead to keep the air moist and to assist with some evaporative cooling. Does anyone here have any experience building swamp coolers?

Once again, Thanks.

Don

Brookeville, MD(Zone 7a)

I have no idea what you're talking about! Lol. Hopefully some one does.

Temecula, CA(Zone 8b)

;-)) CaptMicha,