Cleaning My Birdbath

Springboro, OH(Zone 6a)

Well, I am very new to birding... and I'm sorry to say I guess I'm learning a few things a teensy bit late. I've had a birdbath since June 2004 and I have NEVER cleaned it. Eeeek!

I was online this weekend, trying to learn about attracting birdies when I discovered that I'm supposed to scour the thing every month! Oh my, well I repent. I'm so concerned that I've been providing unsanitary conditions for the little birdies. Oh dear...

I saw several sites that recommended a 9:1 water to bleach solution and scrubbing for cleaning, rinsing extremely well before refilling. Another site recommended scrubbing with a hard brush and a water/baking soda paste and rinsing extremely well. Yet another site suggested a 3:1 water to white vinegar solution and scrubbing....and rinsing extremely well.

I'm sure any of these is good. I admit that the bleach seems a bit harsh...this birdbath is awfully close to plants and heavy to move. Do you all have favorite cleaning methods for your birdbaths??? I really want to scrub this thing like mad tomorrow and would appreciate any input :)

Thanks!
Hugs :)

Elgin, IL(Zone 5a)

We always scrub it each time we refill. Gets a lot of sun, so gets a lot of algae. Every couple months we use the bleach solution. Do you have a heated birdbath or a heater? I got a heated bird bath from Wild Birds Unlimited six years ago. Pretty cool to see birds getting a drink from a birdbath with snow around it. We keep it right outside are kitchen window year round.

Taylor Creek, FL(Zone 10a)

The baking soda, would clean it best with the least amout of danger to plants. Vinegar can be used for "never-grow", But not dituted like that.
Mother was religous about a strong stream of water to scour hers with every morning, displacing debris and refreshing the water. That's all, I don't think she ever had to scrub it in 25 years.
She cherised her Birds so much and they were watered and fed everyday.
Sidney