I am thinking of going organic and need advice

Kissimmee, FL

My tomatoes, peppers hot and mild and scented geraniums will be getting nothing but organic in sprays and food if I can pull it off with your help..

I already use plain soap sprays and egg shells and compost everything I can so my soil is good. Just have bugs some times and need to know the best way to feed my above plants without miracle gro or schultz being in my garden shed again. Help me please
Beverly

Nashville, TN(Zone 6b)

Well, I am far from an expert at organic gardening, but I've always tried to stay away from synthetic fertlizers and I've never used pesticides. It sounds like your'e definitley on the right track, with the soap spray, eggshells, and compost.

I like to make a bug spray with cayenne pepper, garlic, a bit of dish soap, and a tiny bit of cooking oil (to help it stick) to kill the bugs - just spray directly on the baddies. I also use sticky yellow traps for whiteflies - I make my own out of yellow cardstock smeared with vaseline, with a leftover chopstick taped to it to use as a stake.

For fertilizer I've had great results with Neptune's Harvest - it's a fish emulsion. Although I have to admit I kind of slacked last year, and only did one application, plus of course lots of compost and manure. My garden thrived!

I grow scented gereniums as well, and these I have to say I never fertilize, just sometimes give them a top dressing of compost. Right now they're over-wintering in my kitchen, and couldn't be happier - I think they thrive on neglect! LOL!

Good luck on your organic gardening!

Winchester, VA(Zone 6b)

I use horse manure that is aged at least a year.......compost anything I can get my hands on......and I use a lot of kelp
(soil and folliar) - takes about three years to bring a plot back using compost.

It would help to know what kind of pests you normally see or what kind of problems you usually have .......

Fritch, TX(Zone 6b)