I'm a newbie

Dallas, TX(Zone 8a)

I have been growing plants for about a year now. I have had great success with indoor plants but I have run out of room inside. So I would like to try growing some things outside. My husband and I are moving to a new home, well not new but new to us. There is no landscaping at all at this house. Only a couple of shrubs in the very front of the house. Other than that, it is completely bare. I want to make some flower beds of some sort, but I have no idea what to plant. Do you all have any ideas on what type of plants I should start with? And I am embarrassed to say that I just learned the definition of perennial. So I would welcome any information that you could give me. One of my favorite flowers is daffodils. Is this a perennial? Thank you for any help that you can give me.

JesseK

Modesto, CA(Zone 8b)

Jesse....we need a little info about your house. First...Is it in Durham? The area is important so we recommend things that are hardy for your area. Second.....how is the house oriented....north, south, east, or west? Third....what are the sizes of the areas, planters? On and on.....trees that add shade???....soil info....sandy loam? clay? in between?... What is the style of your home?....it's important to put the right looking things around your house....then....what color is your home? I could ask 50 more questions....it would be much easier for us to recommend if you could supply pics. General front yard, general back, side yards if they are to be landscaped, and any special areas (ie...under a tree next to the patio...etc). With this info we will innudate you with plants and ideas ...but we need you to do the "homework" for us!

Karen

Seward, AK(Zone 3b)

Daffodils are a bulb that is perennial in most places. They need a cool period to bloom, so we northern gardeners plant the bulbs in the fall and they bloom in the spring. After they bloom, the foliage will die back. They are pretty in the spring, but not in the summer.