New Greenhouse Advice

Palmyra, PA(Zone 6a)

We are thinking about putting up a greenhouse and we are debating between a house-attached or a separate one. I'd love to have some of your opinions on this? Would you recommend building your own from a pattern or buying one? What company do you recommend?

I'd love to hear from anyone willing to share their experience with me. Thanks so much!

smithton, MO(Zone 5a)

i will only tell you that go bigger than what you originally first thought...lol.....i sure will next time!!

i purchased mine from farmtek and i am very pleased.....it is a 12x24...this is my 2nd winter with mine

my major issue now is i wish i would have gotten a water source inside the greenhouse.....it gets way cold here, so when i do water i have to make sure the hose is drained or im in trouble next time i water

there are lots of things to consider whether you want it attached or not....i like mine not being attached so i can get away from everyone and talk to my plants and they cant look at me funny........"Psstt.....Mom is going nuts, shes talking to her plants again".......lmao

best of luck with your new grow space, which ever you choose

cindy

Tonasket, WA(Zone 5a)

Allie88, I am certainly no expert. but here is my experience. My too small GH is 10 X 14 attached to the north east side of the garage, and so not attached to the house. It is about 25 feet from the house. At the time of being built it was all the space I could find for it. the best advice wit what Brommom said build bigger than you think . The carpenters that built my garage also built the GH and mostly just did what I asked them to do. It is made of 2 X 6s and covered outside with a kind of Plastic that is recommended for GHs. It is not clear. The inside has 6 mil plastic ?? to creat a dead air space for a sort of insulation. I have an electric heater in it and set to keep the GH at about 50 degrees. It was 3 degrees above zero yesterday morning and all was well in there. Donna