Help! Pseudo bulb rot on Oncidium.

Portland, OR(Zone 8b)

I noticed a couple brown patches on one of the pseudobulbs of my new oncidium. I took a sterilized knife and dug a little bit. The rot went into the pseudobulb about 1/8" deep and 1" long. I carefully dug in, removing the rot as well as a little healthy tissue to make sure. I then dusted the wound with ground cinnamon. I'm new to orchids and think this was there when I bought it and just didn't look closely enough. I've been misting 2x daily, but going to hold off until I get some advice on what or what I should do next. The pic is of the post-surgery plant. The affected pseudobulb looked to be the oldest on the plant is not desicated at all, but its only leaf is starting to yellow and brown on the top edge of it. The other pseudobulb looks very good with 6 healthy-looking leaves as well as a very attractive set of blooms shown in the next pic.

What should I do from here? Should I have carved out the rot and dusted with cinnamon?

Thumbnail by emilyrasmus
Portland, OR(Zone 8b)

Here's a pic of the rest of the plant.

Thumbnail by emilyrasmus
St. John's, NL(Zone 5b)

Cutting out the rot was the wise choice as rot can spread rapidly. I've had similar problems and cut out the rot and left the wound to air-dry...I didn't bother with cinnamon...I assume the cinnamon has the same effect as sulphur in preventing rot (?). You may loose the leaf from that pseudobulb but don't worry unless the rot is on the newest bulb. You could probably remove that rotted bulb alltogether and not affect the plant too much. What is the humidity in your growing area? If 50% or more, you don't even need to mist. I rarely mist in winter but I do in summer when plants are more actively growing. If you do mist, try to avoid getting the wound wet.

DC metro, VA(Zone 7b)