Milk spore for grubs

Los Angeles, CA(Zone 10a)

Hello. This is my first time posting here and I don't know whether this topic has been discussed previously. I have a new backyard garden as of April. I've noticed a large number of grubs in the soil when I till it. So far, I've (laboriously) hand picked and thrown them away. First I tried spraying with a 15% amonia solution as I do for slugs (hoping this would work), however I think they actually liked it. I'm a bit squeemish when it comes to stomping on snails and creepies, so I would like some althernative method to get rid of them. I've read that milk spore is a good choice. Has anyone used this and is it considered organic?

Ginny

Seattle, WA(Zone 8b)

It does work, but has a delayed effect on the bettles those grubs will turn into. The Milky spore will attack the grub larva in it's early stages, thus stopping the growth to adulthood.....no adults no new eggs, and no new grubs next year.
Good Luck!

Burleson, TX(Zone 8a)

Will the milky spore hurt anything else? I have tons of grubworms, but can't really tell if there are actually too many. I don't have grass that I can pull up like is usually described. I find them in the flower beds too but don't know that they are hurting anything, just eating a little. ??

Seattle, WA(Zone 8b)

Bacillus bacteria come in many different strains developed to attack several different garden/agricultural pests.
Milky Spore was designed to attack white grubs (Japenese beetle).
Here is a link to help better explain what bacillus bactirium is and how it works.

http://www.biconet.com/biocontrol/bpopillae2.html

Winchester, VA(Zone 6b)

Garden Way grub a way works great - had a yard full of japanese bettles and grubs of all descriptions. Bought it - kind a weird - it came on a sponge. So essentually it was a faith purchase