Starting from seed??

Nevada, IA(Zone 5a)

I'm very new to gardening and have never started anything from seed. I wanted to try my hand at some annuals like petunias or impatiens but I didn't want to wait several weeks for them to bloom if I started them outside. Are they hard to start indoors? Do I need special equipment like grow lights? I don't have a lot of window space to sit things so do they have to be sitting near a window? Any advice you have would be great!

Lana

Kannapolis, NC(Zone 7b)

Easy ones for me to grow from seed (these were my first tries also) are.. Impatiens, Coleus, Vinca (mine self seed themselves they are so easy.) I am sure others will throw in some more easy ones. One other tip - many mail order seed companies will put -easy- or -direct seed- beside their items. That will give you a good idea of other things you can grow.

You don't have to spend a lot to grow from seed either. Last year I went 'big' time (for me) and bought the cheapest flourscent lamps I could find. They are in hardware stores and are like the ones they put in garages. I believe they may have been $8 apiece. Then you buy the light bulbs, some plastic containers, seedling dirt, etc. You also don't have to buy the special flourscent lights that are more expensive if you don't want to. I also like Peat Pots a lot b/c you don't have to move your seedlings around so much. If you are not going large scale you could probably get out under $30 for the whole deal. I am sure you will probably get many other good suggestions!

Nevada, IA(Zone 5a)

So I could put regular flourescent lights in, say, my basement and they'd grow?

The reason I wanted to do this is because I have two fairly long retaining walls along two sides of my house and this year I filled them will annuals. That got to be quite an expense so I thought I'd try growing some from seed. Plus, I've been finding seeds for stuff I haven't seen locally.