Just Joined!!

Seale, AL(Zone 8a)

My name is Suzy and I have been studying plants for about 15 years.I plan to go to college this fall to study horticulture. I waited until my kids were both in school before making up my mind to go..I love to research plants from around the world that are more suited to our climate than what you can find at the garden center. Doing it that way sure beats high water bills.I also love butterfly gardening and cacti and succulents.I grow a lot of plants that most kids have never heard of before and I take plants to science teachers at local schools in the hopes of getting kids hooked on plants early on. This summer I've been raising plenty of 'mother of thousands' plants. The teachers can tell the kids that the plant is going to do something strange and when the babies start to drop she can send one home with them. If anyone has any other ideas for school projects, I would love to hear them.I am a substitute teacher during the winter when there is not much to do in my unheated greenhouse. I have certainly enjoyed this site so far.I am working on my journal, maybe I'll have it ready soon for public viewing.Nice to meet y'all. Suzy (zone 8 Alabama).

This message was edited Friday, Jun 15th 10:05 AM

Hi Suzy, welcome to DG!

Dave

Philadelphia, PA(Zone 6b)

HI Suzy..welcome! Your heart truly is in gardening and it's nice to have you as a new member :)
Trish, the other one

This message was edited Friday, Jun 15th 10:37 AM

Seale, AL(Zone 8a)

This message was edited Friday, Jun 15th 3:15 PM

Richmond Hill, GA(Zone 8b)

Hi Suzy and welcome to Dave's Garden! :)

Terri

Murfreesboro, TN(Zone 7a)