Japanese Maple disease? or just stress?

St. Louis, MO(Zone 6b)

Several of my Japanese Maples are losing their leaves. The leaves dry out, curl up and fall off. One entire tree has gone leafeless. Another two are beginning to show symptoms. The leaves get a brown tip to the end of the points on the leaf. This progresses till the entire leaf is crisp/dead. Some leaves show spots in the middle of the leaf. Does anyone recognise the problem and possibly suggest a remedy?

Thumbnail by Padre
St. Louis, MO(Zone 6b)

Another picture

Thumbnail by Padre
Lima, OH(Zone 5a)

Since this is my first year of having one, Blood Red, sorry, can't help, haven't a clue. Could it be mites or something sucking the life right out of it? Hope someone comes along who can help.

Gloria

Beaverton, OR

What is happening to the same trees within 100 ft.? A mile?

Any real fast changes of weather from cool to hot with no transition time?

Islip, NY