Wildlife Haven Project

Homosassa, FL(Zone 9a)

Hi all. I'm new to Dave's Garden; just joined a few days ago. I live in Citrus County, FL, zone 9a. My property is high & dry, with lots of shade (lol...doesn't sound like Florida, does it?) ok...lots & lots of humidity, too... ;p

I've always enjoyed gardening, but the last few years have been too busy to do much but 'look' at the yard once in a while. Finally, though, I'm beginning to find the time to 'get back into it'.

I'm a total animal lover, and want to make my landscape as 'wildlife friendly' as possible. I could sit and watch the birds, squirrels, butterflies, lizards, toads, tree frogs, skinks, gopher tortoises, snakes, draonflies, spiders and other assorted 'crawly things' for hours. Some of the special guests to our yard have been red-tailed hawks, red fox, eastern cottontail rabbits, a pair of Summer Tanagers, Rufous-sided Towhees, and Ruby-throated Hummingbirds.

Cabbage Palm, Saw Palmetto, Coontie, Slash Pines, various, numerous oaks, Prickly Pear Cactus, and American Beautyberry are just a few of the natives in my landscape. I've added Redbud Trees, Dogwoods, Mimosa, Wild Cherry, Bottlebrush, hibiscus, Justicia, Sago Palm, Allamanda, Cleome, and others that I just can't think of right now.

I'm looking to add plants that are low maintenance (as all of mine have proven by their survival through the last few years of neglect, with the exception of the newcomers Allamanda & Cleome), as well as those that are attractive to hummingbirds & butterflies. Also, want to add those that would provide berries for other birds. I'm interested in colorful, flowering, shade-tolerant plants to landscape around an upcoming pond (kit, not natural - so the plants won't actually be benefitting from the water).