Rembering Georgie

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom

Many years ago I used to work in the library of Teesside Poly (it's now the uni I'm studying at) as a sublibrarian. I had several assistants under me. One was called Georgie. She was in her late teens/early twenties, a dark-haired girl, very vivacious. She had a beautiful singing voice and her singing won her many prizes. She was slightly cheeky, but very well-liked. Eventually she became engaged to a young man called Bob Skingle. He was a photographer I believe, and also a folk-singer with a local folk-group called the Fettlers. I was a keen folk-singer and knew the Fettlers, or at least some of them from an earlier line-up. I didn't know Bob very well though.

Georgie started taking days off work, complaining off severe headaches. To be honest, it was a nuisance, as I had to try and cover her work. But I could see Georgie would become agitated when she had missed a day or two, so I tried to help her make her work easy to pick up and restart. I thought her headaches were migraines, or maybe stress brought on by her impending marriage. My boss Alma got very angry with Georgie's absences. One day she told Georgie off in front of the other assistants. I stood up for her, and got told off in turn.

I'm glad I stood up for her. Sadly, Georgie's headaches were caused by a brain tumour. The doctors operated on her, but it wasn't very successful. I heard that she had been left little better than a vegetable.

Not long after that I got a job in the South of England and moved, and lost touch with what had happened to her.