Bearded Iris for Mixed Border? Suggestions...

Cincinnati (Anderson, OH(Zone 6a)

I am rejuvenating a sunny mixed border and would like to include a tall purple iris with excellent garden habit (and hopefully a rebloomer) and a tall golden yellow rebloomer, again with excellent garden habit--that is, nice shape (flower stands well above leaves), good proportion, neat, long bloomer...Any ideas? I am a novice gardener (and new to the site) so I appreciate any thoughts on your favorites. Thankyou. T.

Deer River, MN(Zone 3b)

Just so you know, bearded irises are vulnerable to rot if they are overwatered or grown in consistently moist soil. For that reason, they are best planted in an area with excellent drainage (a raised bed is ideal) and with drought-tolerant companion plants that don't require supplemental water. If you intend to mulch your border, keep the mulch pushed well away from the iris rhizomes so they and their surrounding soil can stay dry.

Irises also need plenty of room to grow into showy clumps without being crowded by other plants, so don't plant their companions too closely. Irises also need excellent air circulation around their leaves to keep them healthy.

One of my very favorite TBs is a yellow (more of a clear, medium yellow than a bright gold) named HARVEST OF MEMORIES (you can see its pic here: http://plantsdatabase.com/go/35227/index.html). It is an incredibly strong and vigorous grower, reliable bloomer (and rebloomer - but not here in zone 3), unfailingly hardy and healthy, and blooms consistently on tall, strong stalks. You just can't go wrong with this cultivar.

There are a number of purple TB rebloomers. Among the best and healthiest performers in my garden are AUTUMN BUGLER and SIGN OF LEO. Others include HOLY NIGHT (absolutely gorgeous *dark* purple), FEED BACK, and SUGAR BLUES (more of a lavender blue with an *incredibly delicious*, strong fragrance).

Happy shopping!

Laurie