Hydrangea colors

Paris, TX(Zone 8a)

I am new to gardening, so forgive me if this is silly question. I read in a book that if you put rusty nails in the soil by your hydrangea, your flowers will be blue. Is this true or just a myth?

I have a hydrangea that sort of came with the house, and am very interestd in learning more about it...Maybe even planting more some day. Any info would me very helpful, since I've only been gardening since May.

Jennifer

Franklin, LA(Zone 9a)

Some hydrangeas (most, I think, especially the old fashioned ones) change flower color with the pH of the soil. Rusty nails (or lots of other stuff, coffee grounds for instance) may increase the acidity of the soil, causing the plant to flower blue (or blue-er). But it won't happen overnight! If you do this now, it might affect the blooms next year. They need to process the acidity when they are 'setting buds'.

I wouldn't go with rusty nails . . . I'd be worried about safety. But that's just me. Aluminum sulfate is your best bet, since it's the aluminum that actually makes the flowers blue. The acidity allows the plant to process the aluminum.

Cheri'

Paris, TX(Zone 8a)

The flowers on it are pink, and I like them that way. I just read that and it surprised me that one could change them. I would never bury rusty nails in my yard, I just wanted to know if it was true.

Thank you for responding.
Jennifer

So.App.Mtns., United States(Zone 5b)

Adding sulphur changes the hue more blue than rusty (and unsafe!) nails. Lime changes the pH and makes them more pink.

Some varieties will not change color whatever you do... The common, or French, Hydrangeas are the only ones that can change color.

Franklin, LA(Zone 9a)

No problem.