Very low light plants?

Paris, TX(Zone 8a)

Hello to everyone. As you may have read elsewhere, I'm not only a new subscriber, but I'm also new to the plant world. I've checked out many library books, but I think I'd rather ask all of you...

I have a tall corner computer armior, that I believe begs for a plant on top. The trouble is that I have very low, almost no light in this room. I had a Chinese evergreen up there at first, but it had to be repotted and is too heavy now (for my comfort, at least) to put back up there. It need to be non-toxic to cats. I've never seen them up there, but I'd rather be safe than sorry. I think grape ivy would be pretty, but I don't know if I have enough light.

Any suggestions?
Jennifer

BTW, the Chinese evergreen is on my shaded porch, so my cats are safe.

Celaya, Mexico(Zone 10a)

Mother in Law Tongue (Sanseviera) and Cast iron Plant(Aspidistra elatior) would do fine in very low light conditions and as far as I know both are considered non-toxic.

Paris, TX(Zone 8a)

Thank you so much. I'm off now the take a look at these plants (in the plants database, of course). They are on the non toxic list.

Jennifer

I'm back. The Mother in laws tongue is toxic, but the cast iron plant is a possibility. Thank you so much for your help.

This message was edited Jun 10, 2004 10:05 PM

Celaya, Mexico(Zone 10a)

Sanseviera is listed with very low toxicity and only ingestion of large amounts may cause minor symptoms.

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8a)

Philodendron is perfect fot low light and easy to grow. Not sure if I spelled this correctly.

Garberville, CA(Zone 9a)

You can also try the "Lucky Bamboo" that is popular right now. My boss has one in his office in a dark corner, and it seems to do just fine.

You may also want to look into a Ponytail palm, although if your cats are as curious (or stupid) as mine, they may chew ion the ends.

I keep this one in my bathroom, with only indirect light through a small window.

Thumbnail by ladyrowan