Bean Harvest

Wichita, KS(Zone 6b)

Hello everyone. :) I'm fairly new to Dave's Garden but not new to gardening in general.

I have a complaint this year with my green beans. I have about 200 feet of bush beans planted and I tried to time the planting to coincide with my vacation for harvesting the biggest portion.

Welp, here I am in to the second week of that aforesaid vacation and I have picked no more than a double handful of beans. I'm beginning to think either the beans are snickering at me or this is something along the lines of that watched pot that won't boil.

The vines are durn well loaded with blooms and teeny little beans... I just know now that they will be quite ready to cooperate next week when I go back to work.

And yeap, I did pay attention to the days to harvest on the bean paks. I planted them a week earlier than usual because the weather was so warm here this spring but I think there must be something that tells those beans it ain't time to get picked quite yet.

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

That is so true. Climatic conditions have an awful lot to do with harvest times. Plant em early and they sit until the conditions are right.

Seattle, WA(Zone 8b)

I agree with farmerdill...regradless of the 'air' temp it's the ground temp that matters most to seelings and seeds.
Good luck with your beans.......
Do you can or freeze your surplus?

Wichita, KS(Zone 6b)

I can my surplus. For some reason, the family doesn't like frozen green beans.

Oh, they are coming along and it looks like a real *bumper* crop. I usually don't try to time it out that close and guess it's almost impossible even with /days to harvest/ information. Our spring had been unusually warm but then we had some cool and lots of wet weather after they were up and growing. It's just slowed them down to where planting a week earlier than usual really made no difference whatsoever.

Efland, NC(Zone 7a)

Vashur...