Totally DUH? Question here

Okay, new to orchids, sort of. When I get a new plant (species no experience with, must keep one alive for one year before acquiring any more! That's THE RULE). So my phal was one year this Valentines, free to get more immediatly after. Became aquainted with this Philipeno friend (who unblushingly states that 'reed stem' orchids are a race related trait/habit).

Well, she brought me two new plants for Mother's Day. And having all of them lumped to gether, when moving them to water the bloom umbrels of these epidendrum orchids flop together. The next thing I know, one of the blooms is NOT dropping and getting FAT to boot!

So, my real question is; is there any such thing as orchid seeds? This really looks like a seed 'pod' forming, but I have no experience what to expect or even what to do. The bloom is still attatched to the bottom of this odd looking thing...

Whatcha think? Now, I know that plants form seed, even when not pollinated (some) that are non-viable. Is this one of those things, if it IS seed, I'll have to plant it to know?

TIA
Cena

Kylertown, PA(Zone 5b)

Orchids DO make seed pods (and it sounds as though yours is making a seed pod), but they require sowing in a laboratory under sterile conditions in an agar solution and several years growing in a glass flask before they are ready for life on the windowsill. At one time I thought I might like to try this too, but found that this is best left to the professionals!

Highland, CA(Zone 9a)

i really dont know if they would be viable,but i saw one guy on tv starting his in mashed banana.
the flasks are stoppered and steril.it seemed very technical.but,hey,wouldnt hurt to try.
congrats on the seed pod.

Melbourne, FL(Zone 9a)