Old Address in Edinburgh

Mysore, India(Zone 10a)

I'm new to this particular forum. This thread is in connection with an old address in Edingurgh. It is about one
J.G.TAIT, 38, George Square, Edingurgh, Scotland.

Believe me, he used to live there in the mid 20s onwards. He was teacher in a couple of reputed colleges in Bangalore and Madras (India) about 80 years ago. My grandfather was one of his favourite students here. They had developed a good friendship and used to correspond often. Those letters from Mr.Tait were much cherished by my g-father and he had preserved them. I continue to preserve those handwritten letters even after my g-father's death (1976). Because, I have always enjoyed the style of English, esp. old.

Now, I am just curious to know if that address still exists. In one of his letters he mentions about his son Peter playing for his school (in cricket) for the Under-13s. That was in 1926 and by this time, if at all Peter is alive, he will be very old too. If someone in his lineage is still traceable, I can just show how great Mr.J.G.Tait was through those old letters.

Is it possible?

It is possible, not easy, but possible!

I ran a search for the address through the Royal Mail.com and it seems that the building has probably been taken over/knocked down by the University of Edinburgh. A search for a P. Tait in BT.com directory enquires bought up no similar name but that's not to say that Mr P. Tait or his family aren't alive.

It's going back a long time and we're a more mobile society now, however, one of the Edinburgh's local newspapers might allow free ads for reuniting people, it might even be worth writing to them and they may run a story about Mr J.G. Tait as part of local historical interest, I know our local and county papers sometimes run these stories.

Mysore, India(Zone 10a)