Sweet Potato Question

Bethelridge, KY(Zone 6a)

This is my first year planting sweet potatoes. I just put in 50 plants, planted in a furrow. My neighbor tells me that I should have made raised beds (or rows) and planted in the top of the mound.

My question; can I or should I hill up the plants as they grow as you would with regular Irish potatoes, or should I just leave them as they are?

Louisville, KY

Red, this is some pretty good information on growing 'taters.
Hope this is helpful.
Gary/Louisville

http://www.urbanext.uiuc.edu/veggies/sweetpotato1.html

Efland, NC(Zone 7a)

Hmmm....that's a tough call, Red.

I've grown them in hilled beds only. Guess you could try hilling them up and see what happens though...or maybe pull 25 of em back up, make hills and replant? Just to compare the two systems for future knowledge?

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

Red
The traditional method for growing sweet potatoes is on a list. The reasons for this are:
1. In heavier soils it provides a non-compacted area for the roots to develop. (The sweet potato is a root unlike the tubers of an Irish potato)
2. It reduces competition from things like crab grass.
3. It helps to kee p the potatoes forming under the main stem.

In light soils sweet potatoes will grow fine on the flat. Some folks do have problems with the vines rooting and forming potatoes other than in the intended "hill"

In the good old days we made the list by throwing two fuurows together with a two horse plow. Today I use a one row lister.

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

Red : my senile dementia is acting up again. To answer your major question, YES you can pull dirt to them as they grow. They only drawback is that the potaoes will be deep in the ground when you dig them. Not a problem if you have a good fork.

Clanton, AL(Zone 8a)

Thanks for the link sent. I have read it and saved it to favorites. I am hoping to be able to grow some sweet potatoes this year. If possible, i will get some pictures to share asap. Robbie