Question

Colorado Springs, CO(Zone 6a)

I have a vine (the mystery vine) that it about 4 and a half feet tall from seed. No buds or branching, just one vine.

Is it a good idea to pinch the top so that it will start filling out? Or are you supposed to just let vines grow to their hearts content?

Thumbnail by art_n_garden
Ventura, United States(Zone 10b)

It looks like it could be a Thunbergia alata, but I'm not sure about that. You can try pinching off the top, and it will probably branch. This is best done when the vine is small. My thunbergia greggii sends out new shoots from the roots, and yours may do the same after some time.

Thumbnail by Clare_CA
Dallas, TX(Zone 8a)

Clare - I'm a newbie to seedlings and don't quite understand how "pinching off" works. Do you know of a good thread or have any advice?

Tracey

Citrus Heights, CA(Zone 9b)

Clare my clock vine got hot in this last little segment of heat we had, I moved it into semi-sun shade. How much sun should I give it. I made it into a mobile 15 gal trellis. It's not looking it's most healthy, although Ruby Glow is taking off. I have leaves that look like green tacos.

Tracey, the best advice I have is just pinch off the top of the seedling.
There is a terminal growth tip to a seedling, and only one place grows in the plant, which is why it keeps getting taller and not branching out. Once you pinch off (like literally take your finger nails, and cut off this tip) you cut the terminal bud and force the auxiliary buds to grow. The auxiliary buds are the places directly above the leaf or petiole (stem the leaf attatched to the stem) and they will start growth once the top of the plant is cut off. I dont know if that makes sense, but I'll put up pictures of what I did to my vine tonight.

Not the best pictures, but her is the terminal growth as it appeared before I pinched it--

Here it is after i pinched it