Ok, so I'm a newbie...................

Coxsackie, NY(Zone 5a)

and I need your help! I've looked in the wisteria threads and I can't find the answer to my question so I think I'll try this. I have just planted a Chinese Wisteria (not sure if it's a seed start or a cutting). I bought it at Home Depot and it was obviously a dormant vine with some new growth and some healthy roots. I've planted it in a large pot outside. Here's my question...how big do you think I can expect it to get this growing season? From what I've read, I think I can expect about 7 or 8 feet out of it this year. Is that about right? And I've missed flowering, right? (if it was going to flower at all, considering I don't know the age of the plant) Oh, and since I'm asking........the same question applies to the trumpet vine I just planted. Whew! I can certainly talk!!!

Chariton, IA(Zone 5b)

I can't answer your questions about the Wisteria because I'm still waiting on mine to do some growing. I've had it for over two years now and it doesn't appear to grow fast here, but I also don't know what I'm doing with it, so it is basically surviving on its own. Welcome to Daves. Hope someone will come here and answer your questions so I can benefit from their knowledge also. Thanks for posting your questions.

erie, PA(Zone 5a)

Most Wisteria vines take a few years to bloom, sometimes as much as 5 years depending on the soil and type of vine planted. If you planted it in a pot, it will take awhile for it to bloom but it should grow very fast for you. Make sure that you have a good support for your vine as they get very big and heavy. The Trumpet vine should bloom for you this year but not very much, like with most perinnials, it takes 3 years to bring them to their full maturityl. Good luck with your vines Alym and keep planting! p.s. Home depot has a 1 year return policy on plants for exchange or credit slip but no refund, just keep your receipt.

Chariton, IA(Zone 5b)