starting a new asparagus bed

East Barre, VT(Zone 4a)

I'm finally taking the plunge. I've never built an asparagus bed before. I've read the entry in the Encyclopedia of Organic Gardening, and it sounds too complicated to me. Anyone out there have good methods that won't bog me down or intimidate me into inaction?

Stoneham, MA(Zone 6a)

Hi lee, I'm glad that you posted this. All winter I've been thinking of how great it would be to grow asparagus. I LOVE asparagus ... but don't know what's involved in growing them.

Belfield, ND(Zone 4a)

I planted mine about 4 years ago. I dug a trench about a foot deep and planted them in there with a mixture of topsoil and manure. As the plants grew, I kept filling in the trench with ore topsoil and manure until the trench was ground level by the end of the summer. They all took real well and this year will be the first year that I could harvest them for an extended amount of time. You have to give them a few years before you start harvesting all season.

It is a little work to get them planted and started, but it is so worth the effort. Once asparagus is established, I think it will produce for many, many years.

Judsonia, AR(Zone 7b)