Any tips for watermelon newbie?

Gainesville, FL(Zone 9a)

OK, this isn't a vegetable, but I thought this would be an appropriate forum for the question.

I am really new to growing melons and have a few questions. I would like to grow some melons this year, but space at my house is aty a premium. I have heard you can grow these in containers, but am not sure I want to do that.

How much space Could I expect two or three vines of a small variety (Golden Midget) to take up?

There is a spot on the isde of my house that would be perfect, but it only gets maybe 4-5 hours of direct sunlight (west facing wall) and it is blazing hot when it hits. Would this be too little light/too much heat for most melons?

If anybody has tips for this foray I would be very appreciative
Thank you

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

That is a tough one. Just going out to put in 200 hills of watermelon. I have never tried but would not expect watermelon to do well in a container. The feeder roots extend the lenght of the vines so they take a lot of horizontal space. Golden midget is very small, vine as well as melon. I have grown New Hampshire Midgets and Bush Fordhook in a five foot by 5 foot space. I don't think you will get away with much less than that. Watermelons need sun light especially morning sun, heat doesn't bother them much. They also prefer a sandy soil.

Efland, NC(Zone 7a)

Farmerdill, I'm coming to YOUR place at harvest time! Yummy!

Shane, I've grown some of the ice box types (Sugar Baby) up a fence before and they did okay. They'll need a good amount of moisture being up in the air like that tho, and you'll need to make a sling (t-shirt, pantyhose) to cradle the melons in to hold them to the fence. It's a great sight to see!

Denton, TX(Zone 7a)

I had some ice box size melons growing on the fence last year. Too bad they were on the outside of the fence, as dang teenage boys picked them all! And they were not ripe, they picked them to be doing something. Kids!