Would like information

Clermont County, OH(Zone 6a)

on what would be good container plants. I have room on the front porch and on the side patio here at the apartment. The front has partial shade and patio has full sun. What does everyone use for containers as well. I'm new to this and would like to make sure I do everything right.

Pembroke Pines, FL(Zone 10a)

Any good potting soil, Miracle-Gro, Jungle Growth,Sam's Choice to name a few. Don't buy the cheap stuff for it may compact. As for the containers - most anything will do as long as they have holes in the bottom for drainage. Use a good fertilizer, Osmocote is easy to use and it is a time release fertilizer. Sprinkle every three months. Most importantly do not overwater! You can buy a gauge for about $7.00 at "Lowes Builders Supply". Forgot to mention a fact about type of containers. For me, clay pots are best because they don't blow over but you have to watch the water moisture because water evaporates faster in clay pots.
Many people use the self-watering plastic pots which are very good because you can't overwater. I have found them in my area only at WALMART. I suggest this for any one that has a busy schedule or a beginner in gardening. As far as type of plants "Parks" Catolog tells which plant is best for shade and which plant is best for sun. So ENJOY!!!

Spokane, WA(Zone 5b)

Million Bells make very good container plants (they have some beautiful dark pink ones that I plan on buying this Spring). Also, I like geraniums and bacopa.

San Diego, CA(Zone 10a)

My favorite when I was an apt. dweller was Bright Lights Swiss chard with nasturtiums hanging down. Pretty and yummy.

I'll have to check all those out. I figure I may not have a yard but I still have the porch and patio. I might as well give it some life.

Hughesville, MO(Zone 5a)

Impatients, Portulaca, Petunias, and several others make great pot plants. I've raised all of these in pots successfuly for several years.

Seward, AK(Zone 3b)