New to Peonies

Seattle, WA(Zone 8b)

I am new to growing Peonies....they were a flower/plant from my childhood. I planted 4 generic plants last Spring. They never did much last year, but I really didn't expect them to.
I have yet to see them breaking ground this year. Should I be worried yet that they didn't survive? We did have a very cold nasty winter this year.

RikerBear

Marysville, WA(Zone 7a)

RikerBear. Here, 40 miles north of you, my neighbors peonies in her raised bed on the south side of the house are just barely breaking ground.Spring is slow to come.

Seattle, WA(Zone 8b)

Hmmm...I'm in zone 8b, I have SO many things up and growing and blooming already I would have thought the peonies would be popping up too. Well maybe I am just being impatient....I do tend to be one of those NOW type gardeners :-)
Thanks for the reply

This message was edited Mar 11, 2004 11:54 AM

Elkhart, IA(Zone 5a)

rikerbear, peonies have different bloom times, some are early, mid season and late season...if you have a late season peony it will come up in the spring later than an early or midseason one. Check to see which variety you planted. Don't worry, they are very tough! Hang in there! :) Bev

Mableton, GA(Zone 7b)

Plus don't worry about the cold! They live in zones 3 and 4 without any help!

Western, WI(Zone 4a)

Rikerbear, I hope that you followed directions in planting your peonies. They must not be planted more than 2" below the level of your ground where you are planting in order for them too bloom.
And yes, they can be slow to emerge due to weather conditions. Mine are under 8" of snow right now.
I have grown them for over 50 yrs.

Maxine

Seattle, WA(Zone 8b)

Thanks everyone for your info and replies.
1: I have no idea what type these are as they were simply marked "Peony' pink $2.99 :-)
2: Wonderful to know they survive up to zone 3
3: I do remember measuring to make sure they were not planted to deeply, as I had read that could spell disaster.