Is it Spring already?

Huntsville, AL(Zone 8a)

Since this is my first year here, I don't know about the seasons. I live in Belgium and here is what is happening.
Snowdrops are blooming everywhere and some crocuses are starting to bloom. Lots of new growth of the perennials. The birds have new songs that sound similar to spring mating songs in the USA. Yesterday I spied a pink tree blooming and also a small pink shrub. SInce I was in a car, and only had a glimpse, I didn't see what they were. Does Spring come this early here?

Christina in Belgium

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom

Yes, thst's spring! It's started here in the UK as well.

Helsinki, Finland(Zone 4b)

Noo.. it's still Winter. Don't beleive everything they tell you ;)

Of course it's spring! We have snowdrops and crocuses out here, rte daffies are in bud, and Mr Blackbrid has been inspecting the Viburnumin my garden again, with thoughts of nesting in it.

Of course it's spring! We have snowdrops and crocuses out here, the daffies are in bud, and Mr Blackbrid has been inspecting the Viburnum in my garden again, with thoughts of nesting in it.

Bolton, Greater Manc, United Kingdom(Zone 8a)

it is not officially spring until March 21st. There may be late winter plants flowering but dont be fooled it can still get very cold!!

Huntsville, AL(Zone 8a)

Well like I always tell my children when they ask when is summer (or any other season), I say there are at least three different ways to count the seasons. THe first is astronomical and that is indeed March 21st for spring. Then there is cultural. For example, in the US, summer begins on Memorial Weekend (weekend with last Monday in May) and ends with Labor Day (first Monday in September). THen the last, and most important for nature study and gardening is climatic season. So in areas with four seasons there can be much variation. In Virginia, Spring began in early March, in Chicago it was more like early April and in Georgia, it was more like February.