orchids that can grow cool (conservatory) in winter

I know very little about the culture of orchids. I do notice that one of the largest marketplaces for orchids that I have ever seen is eBay (Garden topics,Flowers). It is tempting to bid there but without knowledge of the species it is chancy. I have a cool, 50 degree, winter plant room and wonder which orchids can do well in that room. I have had two dendrobiums bloom there, Three others do well but do not bloom. Doing some checking, I find there are many things to know about orchids and the thousands of species. Some hands on comments would be welcome.

Pernis RT, Netherlands(Zone 8a)

Hi,
You could have a look at Jay's orchid encyclopedia at http://www.orchidspecies.com/index.htm#top
At his site you'll find descriptions, pictures, and hardiness of about every orchid you can think of.

[ Removed by member request. - Admin ]

Pernis RT, Netherlands(Zone 8a)

Here is another great site. Not as many orchids maybe, but lots of information.
The orchid desk http://www.dwave.net/~andrewj/culture_files.html

Petaluma, CA

Claire, my experience with most orchids is limited, but may I recommend Cymbidiums.
I've been most pleased with a dwarf Cym. of the variety 'Golden Elf' for its readiness to bloom and the fragrance of the flowers. A bit lemony, and so is the color.

New York, NY(Zone 6a)

3 more options for you to consider:
Miltonopsis (pansy orchids): warm to cool, moist with medium sun, large & lovey blooms that resemble giant 'pansies'. Very nice & showy.
Masdevallias: cool to cold, moist with shade, miniature blooms that are kite-shaped and brightly colored.
Neofinetta: warm to cool, bright sun, miniature plant with nice fragrance.
perLite, I just picked up a 'Golden Elf', I've heard alot about their great frangrance & hardiness and I can't wait til it blooms ...is there a particular season they start to bloom?

Petaluma, CA